Google Editions

Google will start selling digital books in June or July of this year, using a non-proprietary file type that will work with multiple devices.  In other words, DIE KINDLE DIE.

I can’t say I’m going to mourn the Kindle model, because IMHO it sucks.  However, I’m also not sure I’m delighted about Google starting to sell digital books.  At least one part of my distaste at the Amazon model–the monolithic entity through which all revenue flows–is going to be reproduced in the Google model, too.  Unless they decide to route all that money to Google.org, I guess.

Meanwhile, indie booksellers and libraries are scraping by, or not scraping by…

Leave a Reply

