The State of the Bookshelf: 2010

So, last year I tallied up the books I read in 2009 and ran a few stats to see where I’ve been resting my eyes the most.  Same deal this year–and not surprisingly, pretty similar results.

Total books read:  43 (minus 2 collections/anthologies, which skew the proportions, so call it 41)
Number of single-author books by women: 15 (37%)
Number of single-author books by or about people of color: 4 (10%)
Number of single-author books by or about Jewish folks, that I know of: 3 (7%)

2009 figures for comparison:
Number of books by women: 16 (29%)
Number of books by or about people of color: 8 (15%)
Number of books by or about Jewish folks, that I know of:  2 (4%)

So, yeah.  Interesting how that works, even when you’re conscious of your reading biases and trying to read against them.  I know I’m going to tally my reading at the end of the year, and I’m conscious every time I pick up a book that I’m making a choice to read a particular author, with a particular world view.  I have an intention to read more broadly, the way you can have an intention to stay calm and cheerful all day at work.  So far I haven’t exactly wowed myself with my results.

The cover collage, for interest’s sake.

 

One response to “The State of the Bookshelf: 2010

  1. Pingback: Reading on Balance « The Instant Librarian

Leave a Reply

